Paleo Day 1

Hello all!

I’m starting something new this week to go along with my 1/2 marathon training! I’m going 100% paleo with my diet – and, if you know anything about me and my obsession with various types of cuisine (and sugar…lots and lots of sugar), you can imagine how much of a struggle this may be for me.

If you’re not familiar with what the paleo lifestyle is, Nerd Fitness has ya covered. Reading this was the first time I had ever even HEARD of it, so it’s a good place to start!

For my first day, though, I’m still alive and well! And something tells me that I will, in all likelihood, be not only alive and well in a month from now, but I’ll be alive, well, and BETTER.

Here’s how my day started:

I woke up, stumbled out of bed (looking like Cousin It…as always), and I made my way to the kitchen. Side note: my hunger is my alarm clock, not even kidding, so I always eat first thing in the morning. For breakfast, I cut up some apples and spread them with almond butter, which, might I add, I am addicted to. I also ate a handful of blueberries with some almond milk and coffee.

Great! It was delicious, and I was full, satisfied, and happy.

When I arrived at work, I immediately smelled bread. Yes, I SMELLED carbs. If there are carbs within the length of a football field from wherever I am standing, I will sniff them out. I located the tray of bagels. I groaned, and carried right on past it. I sat down in my cubicle, patted myself on the back, told myself  I was awesome, and began to start my work day.

For lunch, I made a baked chicken breast marinated and topped with fresh tomato salsa, and homemade guacamole! I also had a handful of carrots and a banana to go along with it.

Then, at 4:58  PM, I smelled popcorn. I resisted like a champion, but I questioned how I would resist all of the temptation throughout a full-on life style change if I’m already pining for buttery, salted kernels half way through day numero uno. The important thing is, though, that I am not actually hungry, the smell of popcorn just happens to be intoxicating!

For dinner, I made baked chicken with sugar snap peas, carrots, zucchini, onion, marinara, and salsa (because hotter is better), all baked together to create a deliciously satisfying, drool-worthy, quick, and easy dinner for one!

One day down, a lifetime to go. I will definitely cheat. I’m not going balls-to-the-walls from here on out, by any means. I will stick with this paleo thing as a regular day-to-day way of living, but I refuse to lie to you and say I will turn down every piece of chocolate cake I find involuntarily and/or voluntarily placed in front of my face.

Tomorrow, I am going out to lunch with a co-worker who has already been doing the paleo thing for a few months. Once I get the hang of it, I’ll start exploring new recipes and become one of those people who choose to be responsible and cook every day.

Til then, wish me luck!

Jess

5 responses to “Paleo Day 1

  1. I’m so proud of you sis!!!!! And I’m cracking up… Loove you! You’re amazing!

  2. It gets easier as time goes on. When your energy picks up, and you feel good day in and out – it’s easy to leave the bagels and popcorn behind.

    Good luck!

  3. I’ll second Dennis’s comment.

    I ate relatively paleo before my big trip last year…but by the end and traveling through China, all I could find were bad carbs…so I ate unhealthy.

    For the first week back in San Francisco, walking through a grocery store I noticed and craved all bad foods that I honestly would have NEVER even considered eating back when I ate healthy. It seriously weirded me out, because they were foods that I never wanted before, but it was all I wanted to eat…

    And then I realized it was because my body was hooked on bad carbs! After a few weeks of clean eating again, things went back to normal.

    So, stay strong!

    The first two weeks might suck, and unfortunately paleo doesn’t play well with distance training (though it can be done)…but I’m excited for you and looking forward to some paleo meals in DC!

    -Steve (long time reader, first time commenter)

  4. Hello it is now May and I was wondering how you are still doing with the Paleo diet? could you let me know?

Leave a Reply

