Pondering what’s next – DC life post Houston life

Finding a job in this economy completely suc….completely drains my life. I moved out to the East Coast in hopes of exploring parts of the country I feel I could live in to start a career. I love DC. I think it’s a great city with lots of enthusiastic and passionate professional-minded individuals. But, the job search is not going as well as I had hoped. Moving out here was a decision I made because I was ready for a change and sick of sitting still.

I am a pro at getting to the third phase of interviews with amazing companies, but when every job has “three to four really good candidates” at this step in the interview process, it’s cutting my odds down to 25 – 33.333333333333333333333333%.

That being said, and incredibly mathematically accurate might I add, I’m still exploring my options. I don’t know much about what the future will hold, but here is what I do know:

1. I want to work in media. I want to work for an agency doing PR and communications for lifestyle, entertainment, or non-profits. I like to eat. And I like to talk. So, finding a job in which I can utilize both of those passions would be ideal.
2. I want to travel. People say this all the time. But, rarely, as I have come to notice, do people ever get to do so until retirement age. I am 22 years old, unemployed, little money in my savings from my previous job, and a lot of energy. As much as I would love to save the little amount of money I have, I would like to spend it in Southeast Asia eating and exploring much more.
3. I want to help others in my position. While I have met a lot of amazing people out here in D.C. this past month, many people seem to have forgotten what it’s like to be unemployed and running around with your head cut off in a new city. While lots of people I have met have been eager to help and super friendly, majority just wont give you the time of day. And that’s the way it goes. But, when I am in a position of employment and have the experience needed under my belt, I am going to help young people find the right connections and ultimately a good fitting job.

So, what’s next? I’m applying for jobs every day, and meeting new people from networking events and previous connections. If a full-time position comes my way in the next month, I would be ecstatic and be the best employee I could possibly be for that company! If not, I’ll take it as a sign to get on a plane to Southeast Asia.

I’ll keep you posted. Thanks for reading!

4 responses to “Pondering what’s next – DC life post Houston life

  1. Awesomeness typically attracts awesomeness, so don’t get discouraged yet! FYI, Southeast Asia = running around with your head cut off (unemployed or not) haha 🙂

  2. amcampbelldirect

    See you got a job and its a great start! keep your head up your going far sista!!!

  3. Leave it to you to shed comical light on a bleak situation.
    Oh, how I love thee.

    Let the force be with you.

    (You know, other than Star Wars, no one ever discusses what said force is. Hmm?)

Leave a Reply

