Life in transition – constantly changing and moving

All throughout high school, and right before college, my dream was to become a medical doctor. I spent my first two semesters as a biology student, and quickly switched to Journalism for my third semester after realizing I suck at both math and science. During my transition, I imagined myself as a world-class journalist working undercover in a foreign country with hopes of exposing the deepest, darkest stories of our lifetime. I still get wrapped up in marathons of Law and Order on occasion, but I never wanted to be a detective. I just like the investigation part.

During the summer between my junior and senior year, I interned with Discovery Channel in the Communications department. My career then seemed to veer in the direction of a life living in a ritzy city, becoming a successful publicist, and dominating the entertainment industry with my cunning charm and wit…. Okay, fine — working in the entertainment industry and hoping to survive.

After my last semester of college, the real world came knocking on my door, and the job search began.

December…

January…

February….

March….

Nothing. I had hundreds of resumes out all over the nation and had not one little inkling of interest. Apparently the real world came knocking with depression and rejection as uninvited guests.

Then I ran into my scuba instructor from a few years back, and his company happened to have an opening that was a perfect fit for me.

It’s weird – the directions our lives take! I guess my point is, when you step back and look at the bigger picture, our lives are constantly changing. Whenever some negativity starts creeping up on me about the direction my life is going, I always think about how much my “plan” has changed.

“One way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure.” – William Feather

5 responses to “Life in transition – constantly changing and moving

  1. Michael Ginther

    Jessie I agree with you, life and our “plan” is constantly changing. Once I started college I never saw myself in the Military or ending up in San Diego, or even as an Aviation Supply Officer. However, had my life not taken me in this direction not only would I not have experienced 1 1/2 years living on the East Coast, but I would have never met you.

    Keep a positive attitude and always look for the best in every situation as you never know what great unexpected things life will throw at you. Keep your chin up and stand tall. I look forward to seeing you out here in San Diego in October… I hope on your free time I can show you a good time. 🙂

  2. i love this post because i can so relate! :]

    miss you chica

  3. Awesome site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any
    message boards that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get feed-back from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

