My thoughts on graduation

I am graduating in December. I am excited. I am terrified. I am nervous. I am anxious. In that order. However, whenever I tell someone who has already graduated that I will be finished in two months, their response makes me want to cry. From some people, I have gotten, “Wow, that’s great! Congratulations!” From even more people, I’ve gotten, “Enjoy it while you can. The real world totally sucks.” Or, “Why are you graduating early? I would stay in as long as you can.”

These words ARE NOT HELPFUL!

Yes, I am graduating a semester early because I took summer school each summer. I studied abroad one summer, and I interned this past summer. I have worked my butt off during the long semesters and I am very proud of myself for finishing. I have had a blast while in San Marcos and have made some of the best friends I could have ever asked for. I am closer now with my family than I have ever been before.

I realize that college is probably the best time of my life, but I also realize that life is what I make of it. While getting a “real job” may sound awful, I think it is all about my attitude towards it. I am optimistic about my future. I have been job searching and looking into tons of companies and exploring different places where I could move to in January. If I have to move home for a bit, then I move home for a bit. But just because college is over does not mean my life is going to suck from here on out.

If you are someone who feels that your life sucks since you graduated and got a degree and a real job, FIND SOMETHING DIFFERENT. Go back to school. Choose a new path. Life is too short to be miserable while living it. I appreciate everyone being honest with me about what the real world is truly all about, but it won’t bring me down. I may be naive, but ignorance is bliss. Study hard, work hard, and play hard. Live your life to the fullest, and if it gets dull, change it.

I picked up my cap and gown today. I graduate in exactly two months.

Cheers!

6 responses to “My thoughts on graduation

  1. When I first started reading your post, I felt like providing advice along the same lines as the second half of your post. Looks like you’ve got it covered, Jessie. Life is definitely what you make of it.

  2. Great post.

    AND – Think about all the fun we had this summer – working nine to five just like Dolly Parton sings about. And it rocked, was a blass, an amazing time. Dull grown up saying that weekdays are weekdays and holiday are holiday have probably been working at the same place way to long. I’m sure you’ll end up doing something fantastic!

  3. Hey Jessie,

    Amen, and congrats on busting your ass to graduate early. You’re absolutely right in that life is what you make of it.

    After college, I moved to California, got a job in sales, lived 30 yards from the beach, and I was miserable. After a year and a half, I realized that nothing is permanent, and that I had the power to change everything. So, I packed up and moved to Atlanta, where I found a job going on freaking music cruises.

    Some might look at my time in San Diego as a waste or disappointment. I would say that I needed that time in San Diego to realize what I didn’t like (sales) and what made me happy (travel and music).

    So, if your first job sucks out of college, it’s a learning experience – that’s one less thing you have to wonder about, and one less type of job you have to worry about applying for in the future. It’s only an issue if you stay in the job and continue to complain.

    As you can tell, I could go on for hours, so I’ll stop there 🙂 Let me know if I can help in any way with your job search. Best advice I can give: find a company you LOVE and do whatever it takes to get in the door. Don’t chase the dollars, waking up with a smile on Monday morning is so much more enjoyable.

    -Steve

  4. Linn used Dolly Parton as an American reference. bahaha!

    You’re so utterly optimitic. It’s quite sickening. l0l
    I agree life will not suck just because college is over but the pressure to figure out which course of nonsuckness to choose is about to make me implode.

    #ijs

Leave a Reply

