Mid-internship goal check

Back in May, before my internship began, I set some personal goals for myself. They were:

  1. I want to learn the role of public relations at Discovery Communications to be able to experience a career field I had never considered before. I want to ask questions and I want to be a good listener so that I can grow and understand my experiences.
  2. I want to network with as many people as possible – not just to enhance my career, but also to enhance my personal relationships with people in general.
  3. I want to be the first one in the door and the last one out. I have a lot of people that I would like to impress and I want to do everything in my power to make it happen. It would be amazing to be asked to stay on board with Discovery Channel after my internship is over.
  4. I want to wake up early enough in the mornings to train for my half-marathon coming up in November. I know myself and I know that if I plan to work out after I get off work that I will never actually do it. I am not usually a morning person, so training myself to wake up at 6 am every morning to exercise scares the heck out of me. But, as they say, “no pain, no gain.”
  5. I want to prepare myself for the GRE. I have all of the study books I could ever imagine, so there is no excuse for me to not utilize my resources and to make an amazing score. My top choice school is University of Miami for an MA in Multimedia Journalism.
  6. And, of course, this wouldn’t be me if I didn’t add that I want to explore all of the local restaurants. I hate chain restaurants because they are so impersonal. Local places always provide their own unique flair and I am hoping to find some hole-in-the-wall places while I am there.

Well, it is now July, and the halfway point through my internship. So here is where I stand on accomplishing my goals.

I want to learn the role of public relations at Discovery Communications to be able to experience a career field I had never considered before. I want to ask questions and I want to be a good listener so that I can grow and understand my experiences.

I think this is a goal that I will need to set for a long period of time. I have definitely learned a lot about public relations, but I have really only scratched the surface. Understanding everything about public relations would take years of experience…and even then, there is always someone who knows more who could be learned from. So far, between writing press releases, talking with media representatives (reporters, editors, Discovery executives), and working under the Director of Communications, I have some pretty good experience under my belt that I will be able to use no matter which path I take in my career – be it PR or not.

I want to network with as many people as possible – not just to enhance my career, but also to enhance my personal relationships with people in general.

I have met a lot of great people at Discovery. Between the other 84 interns and the full time employees, I have learned a lot and met a lot of interesting personalities. Everyone has their niche and everyone feeds off each other. One of the most interesting aspects of working for a major communications company is seeing how all of the different departments depend on each other and work together. To see the interaction between marketing, advertising, PR, production, creative, and legal, I have learned a lot about teamwork.

I want to be the first one in the door and the last one out. I have a lot of people that I would like to impress and I want to do everything in my power to make it happen. It would be amazing to be asked to stay on board with Discovery Channel after my internship is over.

I generally beat my boss into the office and she always tries to win, but it’s just because I have a 45 minute commute and never know when there will be delays or not. So, I usually leave extra early just in case. However, I am not the last one out the door – I would get lonely. I leave by six pm. As for impressing people, I can only hope. I am doing my best and working very hard, but I won’t know for sure unless I am either told that I’m doing a great job, or I am offered a job. (Fingers crossed).

I want to wake up early enough in the mornings to train for my half-marathon coming up in November. I know myself and I know that if I plan to work out after I get off work that I will never actually do it. I am not usually a morning person, so training myself to wake up at 6 am every morning to exercise scares the heck out of me. But, as they say, “no pain, no gain.”

LOL.

I want to prepare myself for the GRE. I have all of the study books I could ever imagine, so there is no excuse for me to not utilize my resources and to make an amazing score. My top choice school is University of Miami for an MA in Multimedia Journalism.

If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, you know by now that I have been struggling with this one. I have GRE books and I have LSAT books. I have barely studied for either one because I don’t know which one to do, if either. I was reading about the LSAT this morning at a local coffee shop and the girl next to me asked me if I was about to start Law in the fall. I told her that I was just beginning to study for the admission test and she gave me a lot of advice about her experience as a law student at Michigan Law. She recommended some great books aside from the usual Kaplan and Princeton Review and told me that it would be a lot of hard work but that she doesn’t regret doing it. If anyone has any words of wisdom or advice, please…enlighten me.

And, of course, this wouldn’t be me if I didn’t add that I want to explore all of the local restaurants. I hate chain restaurants because they are so impersonal. Local places always provide their own unique flair and I am hoping to find some hole-in-the-wall places while I am there.

This one is a constant work in progress. I spend entirely too much money on food, but I have loved every bite of it. (Get it? Bite instead of bit? No? Alright). I have my favorites, of course. I eat a lot of Thai food and a lot of classic bar food. Thank goodness for my membership at Washington Sports Clubs, or I would regain the freshman 15 all over again.

That is my goal update. At the end of my internship, I’ll let you know if I end up accomplishing all of them.

Leave a Reply

