The oil spill and upcoming dangers to certain species in the Gulf

It is easy to sit back and say, “Oh, I don’t even want to think about it.” Or, “those poor animals in the Gulf…”

But this is everyone’s world, and everyone has a responsibility to help clean it. When I was in New York, a man made casual conversation with me, and he asked where I was from. I told him I was from Texas and his demeanor completely changed. He proceeded to lecture me on how the oil spill was my fault because I was a Texan and now his family, all of them Floridians, were supposed to clean up my mess. I was taken aback, and the only thing I could think to say was, “well, I don’t think it’s any one person’s fault, I think this is everyone’s world and we all have a responsibility to take action.” He rolled his eyes and walked away. At first, I was offended, but then I realized that he was just ignorant. He doesn’t realize that we all need to do our part.

The US Fish and Wildlife Services is going to begin an effort to save an entire generation of sea turtles from the oil spill crisis in the next coming weeks. “The plan, entitled Sea Turtle Late-Term Nest Collection and Hatchling Release Plan, was developed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS), National Marine Fisheries Service (NOAA-Fisheries), and the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWCC), and involves translocation of an anticipated 700 nests in an effort to prevent the loss of the entire cohort of hatchlings” (http://www.fws.gov/).

Turtles go to the beaches of Florida and Alabama to lay their eggs. With the upcoming hurricane season and the slow process of cleaning the oil from our ocean, these sea turtles are going to be hatching into a puddle of oil if we don’t act fast.

The plan is said to collect about 70,000 eggs from the beaches of the gulf and will contain them in incubators until hatched when the organization will release them into an oil free zone.

Unfortunately, time is of the essence. This relief plan is said to kick off in the next few weeks and if the weather gets worse between now and then due to the upcoming hurricane season, it could be too late. I have come across some red tape, and I am only in the idea phase of this plan. I tried to get my internship to organize a team to go help, but with all of the liability issues, time limitations, and many other roadblocks, it does not seem possible. I don’t want to give up on this plan, but I don’t know how to keep it alive. Any ideas?

I feel so strange sitting back and watching all of this happen from my TV screen. At first, I didn’t realize how big of a deal it was. In fact, the reality of it all didn’t even hit me until I saw a short article about the sea turtles in the Washington Post Express on my commute to work this morning. I need to do something – donating money is not enough. If you can, help me find a way to get around all of these obstacles! I need to do something, too.

For more information, please visit http://www.fws.gov/. Time is more valuable than money in certain cases. I feel like this is one of them. These storms are coming fast and so is the oil.


Leave a Reply

