Happy Father’s Day – Why My Dad Rocks

My father, Paul Spielvogel, is quite the character. If he is not off diving with sharks around the world and living behind an underwater camera, he is with his family or, as a  last priority, at work as an attorney in Texas. On this Father’s Day, I have decided to write about why I appreciate and love my Dad oh so very much!

My Dad, for as long as I can remember, has always tried his hardest to be involved with, not only his own children, but also with his nieces and nephews as well. When I was 11 years old, he was taking all of my cousins down to Cozumel, Mexico to go scuba diving. He would plan the entire trip, make sure everyone had a fantastic time, and began the never ending love of scuba for all of the children in our family. He has helped me, along with my two brothers, get out of trouble with the law (on numerous occasions…he’s our attorney). He has moved his kids in and out of multiple dorm rooms and apartments and now, a house, throughout our college experiences. He even has danced on stage with me at The Woodlands Pavilion for my 6-year-old ballet dance recital in front of hundreds of people to the song “Butterfly Kisses”. I promised him I would never announce that for the public, so, I apologize for this before you call and yell at me, Dad.

To go back even further, my Dad taught me my ABC’s in a rocking chair every night before I went to bed last year. Just kidding, it was when I was a wee little tot. After the ABC’s, then came a job. He got me my high school job at Circuit City, which worked out for the both of us since he loved the discount and I loved the pay for three years of my life.

When my brothers were little, he never missed a baseball game. This is where I get upset…my softball games were usually during the same time, but he sure never missed a baseball game. He sponsored their little league teams so that it said “Spielvogel and Spielvogel” on the backs of all the little baseball jerseys. When it came time for fundraisers, he bought the entire boxes of candy so that we wouldn’t have to go through the painful process of going door to door to sell it.

My dad makes friends and holds onto them for life. Two of his life long friends, Frank and Ivan, are constantly around. It takes a special person to make a friendship and to keep it for nearly 40 years. He is the type of man that people love to be around. His laughter is contagious, his humor is sick, and his hair is curly. Oh, and he’s Jewish (I have to add that in every time I write about my dad. It’s tradition). Those characteristics make for an awesome combination.

The employees who work in his office are referred to as “his girls.” While they may want to murder him for his scatterbrained-ness half the time, they still have stuck by his side since as far back as I can remember. Magaly, his right-hand woman, has known our family since I was in third grade and she has put up with this man since way back then. It could be because of the office trips my Dad plans with my Mom to take the entire office on cruises or other awesome things for being such great employees. Or, maybe it’s just because he’s an awesome boss and makes life interesting!

He taught me his number one motto, “don’t panic and take control” and he taught me that I can do anything I want to do. He supported me when I told him I was going to try to go to medical school and he supported me when I told him to forget the idea of medical school. He has inspired me in more ways that I could ever imagine and it is safe to say that he is my biggest hero. I admire his photographs of sharks and underwater scenery, and I admire the fact that he and my mother built their business from the ground up. I love to make fun of him for his nerdiness and curly hair, and I always think of ways that I could make him into a cartoon character. Until I learn to draw cartoons, he will remain an entertaining goofy man in my writings. I love you Dad! Happy Father’s Day!

One response to “Happy Father’s Day – Why My Dad Rocks

  1. Your Dad does rock, and so do you!

Leave a Reply

