Capitol Hill – so many opportunities in one place!

I love media! Call me a dork, but I cannot help it. Today, my roommate from Sweden told my family and me at dinner that she wrote her first article for Talk Radio News at her internship. It was also her first article to write in the United States. She told us that she did not know whether it was to be published somewhere or if anyone was going to give her feedback about her work. We talked about it for a while and I advised her to simply ask her employer tomorrow at work to find out what they do with the works that their interns write. Well, when we got back to the apartment, she found her article published online for all the world to see. We were so excited that we actually jumped up and down in our chairs a little bit. It is such a great feeling to see your accomplished writings somewhere reputable.

It truly is amazing how quickly news can spread with new media. One click of a button, and a senator somewhere could be reading her research and published material on an actual news source. The possibilities are endless! One well written article could be the difference between 10  people reading your work, and thousands of people reading it. Also, props to Talk Radio News for exposing their interns to such a wonderful opportunity to be published under such a respected name. To say that you have work published with Talk Radio News could open up endless amounts of doors for the future.

I love Capitol Hill! I may just seem like the naive girl walking around in a big city, and that may be true…but I can’t help but feel the excitement and energy of this place when I see success happening all around me. It’s a great feeling and I cannot wait to see what this summer holds for me.

I start my job on Monday…I met my boss for lunch today and she showed me around the Discovery building. I saw where I will be sitting (I get my own cubicle!) and she introduced me to some of the people I will be working for. I feel like a little kid waking up on Christmas morning so I can go open up all of my presents. I am just so anxious and excited! I love it here.

One response to “Capitol Hill – so many opportunities in one place!

  1. That is such a cute post 🙂

Leave a Reply

