Post-Graduation…What to do, what to do?

I have no idea what I want to do with my life after I graduate. Both of my parents are lawyers, so I played around with the idea that maybe I could be one, too – after all, my name is already on the door. I picked up an LSAT book in Book People the other day, started reading it, decided law school would suck, and then took a nap. When I was in high school, I was determined to join the Peace Corps after college, but now, I am not so sure. I would love to be immersed in a culture unfamiliar to me and to be able to help out in anyway I can, but I don’t know if setting aside 27 months of my life right out of college is very responsible – especially if I am so unsure.

Discovery Channel logo

Ideally, I would like to get hired on with Discovery Channel, but that is all based on how my internship goes this summer. And, even if my internship works out and they want to hire me on after, will I go to graduate school while I am working? Or will I postpone my education to get some experience under my belt?

While not knowing is semi-exciting, it is also scary as hell. Two of my biggest fears are 1) moving back home to The Woodlands until I decide what to do, and 2) working a desk job 8-5 everyday. I lived in The Woodlands for 18 years of my life, and while it is familiar and comfortable to go back home every now and then, I don’t think I would like to look back – I need somewhere new. As for the desk job thing, I would get bored in about five minutes. I want something where I can go out in the world, observe things for myself, write about my thoughts and experiences, and share them with everyone else.

Since I know what I don’t want, you would think that it would make it easier to know what I DO want. But, that isn’t exactly the case.

I think it would be great if I could take a year to travel around the world and learn about different cultures, but I don’t know where I’d get the money or the company for that sort of thing. Even better, if I could get paid to travel and write about my adventures.

Roads to take after college - google image

I graduate in December, so I have a little under eight months to come up with something I can be happy with. After talking with my family and friends, it has helped me realize that not a lot of college students know what they want to do with their lives. Hearing this made me feel a little less uneasy about the future, but not by much.

Anyways, I’ll keep pondering it. For now, I want some pizza.

Peace!

2 responses to “Post-Graduation…What to do, what to do?

  1. I feel the same as you Jessie, I majored in Business knowing I had little if no passion for it, but its all good as long as you get a degree. I think its awesome that your looking into traveling and cool internships. Do what you love and everything will fall into place, good luck guurl

  2. The question of what to do plagues almost everyone on a daily basis. The key is finding the thing that you are passionate about and run with it. I’ve learned that if you do something you love getting out of bed to go to work in the mornings wont suck as much. If you want to travel then travel, just use your vacation days to do so. If you do get the job after the internship is over then take it, all you talked about is this job so go for it. Grad school you can chip away at that while you work. Deep down you already know what it is you want to do, just step out on faith.

Leave a Reply

