Attempting Vegetarianism

Photo and Quote from Zen Habits

I don’t know why I do this to myself, but for some reason, I like changing things (ie piercing my nose, trying a new food everyday for a year, and dreadlocks). My latest challenge is to go vegetarian. I have read some articles about it, and it seems like it is supposed to make me feel healthier and more energized. However, it also says that vegetarianism is not for everyone and that I should try it out for a while just to see how it makes me feel.

I am prepared to struggle through this task because I have struggled through all my other ones. I only kept my nose pierced for a little over a week, my dreadlocks only survived for four days, and the whole “new food everyday for a year” turned into “new food every week for a year” because finding a new food everyday is not only expensive, but it’s also hard to find new foods at the little HEB in San Marcos, Texas.

However, my cousin Melissa is a vegetarian and I will talk with her about recipe ideas and how to not crave meat. Red meat won’t be an issue because I never really eat it anyways, but chicken is something I could safely say I eat every day. Some websites say to start giving up meat gradually, but that really wouldn’t be my style. I am going to give it all up right now and hope I survive it.

I am not going to even consider giving up dairy or eggs, I like them too much. I never eat fish, but my friend Kristina is coming over Thursday night to teach me how to cook it in case I decide to start incorporating some into my diet. There are several online resources I can look to for tips and ideas, as well as some friends and family members that will help me along! Please let me know if you have any thoughts or advice for me…I could use all the help I can get.

Helpful articles I have come across:

Zen Habits: How to Become a Vegetarian, the Easy Way

Veg Cooking: Making the Transition

Leave a Reply

