New Food: Spring Break Style Catch-Up

After starting my project of trying one new food everyday for a year, I realized that it was not going to be easy. I was slacking for a while, but these past few days in California and road tripping across the half the country have gotten me caught up for a while. My cousin Melissa and her boyfriend Matt were pretty excited about my goal to try something new every day. Matt has tons of ideas and things for me to try and he is seemingly determined to help me succeed.  So far on this trip, I have tried the following (I have attached a wiki page to the ones I can’t really explain, because they are either A. Pakistani, B. Persian, or C. something Californians would eat):

The last In-n-Out Burger in California. Not going to lie to you...way better than Whataburger!

Sake, Viva Las Vegas Sushi Roll, Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes, Aztec Mocha, Mexican Mocha, Hummus, Blood Oranges, In-n-Out Burger, Apricot Crousant, Tandoori Chicken, Seekh Kabab, Beef Boti Kabab, Aloo Palak, Channa Masala, Naan, Keema Naan, Gameh Bademjan, Persian Pistaccio Nougat, Brown Beech Mushrooms, Pine Nuts, Golden Syrup, Tepsi, New Mexico Green Chili.

Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes from Trader Joe's

Most of those things were found at Farmer’s Markets which I fell completely in love with during my time in California. I can see myself becoming a farmer’s market groupie and not thinking twice about it. The Brown Beech Mushrooms  I was a little skeptical about because they were in a back corner of a farmer’s market in California – where clearly anything goes when it comes to drug culture. So when a grungy young guy holds out a mushroom on toothpick and says “hey try this, it’s the weirdest mushroom you’ll ever eat,” and I actually took it without questioning it, I told Melissa that I may start tripping any minute. Luckily, it was a legit non-hallucinogenic mushroom. And yes, it was the weirdest mushroom I’ve ever tried.

Send me some ideas for foods you believe I’ve never eaten! There’s a lot…I used to be a very picky eater.

Leave a Reply

