Valentine’s Day at The Outlet Mall

Today started out as a beautiful sunny day. I woke up, I went to the gym, went to The Coffee Pot to read for class, and then went shopping at the outlet mall with some Valentine’s Day money that I was given by my madre.

So, I am wearing white leggings and a long gray shirt. It’s sunny – I have nothing to worry about. There is no possibility of my white pants getting wet and everyone seeing right through them.

I parked my car in front of Fossil and walked around the entire place til I reached Agaci. I never knew how much I liked that store…cutest clothes ever. Well, in the midst of my Agaci adventure, the power goes out at the entire outlet center. The store kicks everyone out (to prevent theft I am guessing), and we are forced to go outside into the world of random weather. Just ten minutes prior, it was sunny and beautiful. When I left Agaci, or shall I say, when I got kicked out of Agaci, the sky was gray, the wind was howling, and it was starting to rain. Ironically enough, right after I got outside, I got a notice on my Blackberry that said “severe weather alert for San Marcos, TX”. Thanks, Blackberry. A little late.

Cars gridlocked at Outlet Mall. No one moved for over an hour.

Anyways, people started panicking, carrying their kids over their heads (I guess to shield themselves from the rain, I don’t really know), and racing to their cars to get out of the rain and wind.

Day After Tomorrow

The Day After Tomorrow movie cover

Naturally, my white pants reminded me that I should probably run to my car to prevent severe embarrassment. So, I did. I got to my car, which was parked on the other side of the mall, and I looked around me and saw people going crazy trying to get out of the outlet center. I have never seen so many people freak out over a little rain in my life – I feel like every single person had just watched The Day After Tomorrow movie and thought it was really coming true.

I sat in my parked car for one hour and ten minutes. Let me say again: one hour and ten minutes trying to get out of the outlet center. I actually put my car in park and read an entire article about Chelsea Handler in Marie Claire Magazine because it was so gridlocked.

The power came back on after all of that, so I decided I would continue shopping for the last hour the malls were open. I get back to Agaci and they had a sign on the door that said “CLOSED for the rest of the night. Sorry for the inconvenience.” Really? Every other store at the mall reopened. But not the store I wanted.

This, ladies and gentlemen, is why I hate Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

