New Food: Ground Turkey Meat and Pomegranate Juice

I decided I would try two new things yesterday after being harassed about my original decision to just try Ground Turkey Meat. Apparently, that wasn’t branching out enough. So, I also tried pomegranate juice.

Pot of rice with ground turkey meat

Rice with tomato sauce and ground turkey meat

I made a family rice recipe that usually contains ground beef, but I heard on the food network that Turkey meat is healthier for you. So, I figured I’d give it a whirl. Ground turkey has lower calories and fat, but contains a higher amount of cholesterol when compared to ground beef. A 4 oz. serving of ground turkey meat contains 160 calories, and the same size serving of the leanest ground beef contains 170 calories. When I used it in my rice recipe, the only difference I noticed was a difference in the color of the meat. When it came to taste, I could not tell the difference.

POM Pomegranate juice

POM Pomegranate Juice

The pomegranate juice that I tried was delicious. I wasn’t expecting to like it so much because it isn’t a very common fruit. However, when I tried it, it tasted very similar to cranberry juice. According to the POM  website, 100% pomegranate juice:

  • contains no added sugars, preservatives or colors
  • is a good source of potassium
  • is gluten free
  • is flash pasteurized to retain both flavor and nutrients
  • is available in 8 oz.(limited distribution), 16 oz., 24 oz., and48 oz. sizes (237ml, 473 ml, 710 ml, 1.4 L)
  • is certified kosher

It is recommended that people drink one glass of pomegranate juice per day to keep rid of “free radicals” in your body (agents that may cause disease).

All in all, the two new things I tried were delicious. Seriously though, finding 363 more new foods will be difficult. I need all the ideas I can get. Send some my way!

Leave a Reply

