One New Food Everyday for a Year

I have come up with a new assignment for myself. It came to me tonight when I ordered the Veggie’s Lover from Thai Thai Cafe. Expecting just steamed rice and vegetables, I received steamed rice, vegetables, and fried tofu. I was a little skeptical at first. I had never even seen tofu before – I actually had to ask what it was. When I tried it, I discovered that it was actually really delicious.

Seasoned tofu cubes

Seasoned tofu (wiki image)

For those of you who don’t know, (I sure didn’t), according to Wikipedia (real journalism at work here, people), tofu, or bean curd, if of Chinese origin and is a soft, white food made by coagulating soy milk and pressing it into blocks. It does not have very much flavor of its own, so it can be made into desserts or into meals as a meat substitute. Luckily, tofu is low in calories, high in iron, high in protein, and low in fat. Depending on how it is made, it could also be high in calcium.

The Great Wall

China - origin of Tofu

After giving this vegetarian-friendly food a try, I came up with the idea that will probably lead me to experience some delicious cuisine, as well as some pretty questionable foods down the road. I am going to try one new food or drink every day for one year. I can’t imagine trying 365 new foods / drinks. I may need some help coming up with ideas, so please…throw them my way.

2 responses to “One New Food Everyday for a Year

  1. yea tofu is good stuff. its also a flavor absorber. If cooked with mushrooms, it’ll taste like mushrooms. The consistancy will be different, but the flavor will be almost the same. i tried the same plan for a while, but ran out of new things to try haha. Goodluck = )

  2. Pingback: Therapeutic remedies to a stressful world | Jessie's Place

Leave a Reply

