Shoveling a Driveway

After staring out the window at the snow for three days without building a snowman, making a snow angel, or throwing a snowball at one of my family members and/or random stranger, I decided it was time for me to get some sort of snow-like experience. Why I decided that snow shoveling a driveway was the best way for me to get my fix, I will never understand.

As I said that I wanted to snow shovel a driveway, my cousin Jason conveniently announced that he was housesitting for someone out of town and that I could do them a favor by doing their driveway. So, I put on my snow boots, tucked my sweatpants into them, threw on a windbreaker jacket, an odd shaped beanie, and gloves that provided enough warmth for 70 degree weather, and hopped in the Jeep to leave.

When we arrived at the abandoned house, the driveway had a good 6-8 inches of freshly fallen snow laying on it. We had two shovels and three people, so Jason decided to supervise while the Texans (Aaron and I) were put to work. Right off the bat, Jason throws a snowball at me. Naturally, I have to retaliate with a shovel full of snow to the face. This large amount of snow being thrown at him was then nicknamed a “Texas Snowball”. How appropriate, since everything is bigger in Texas.

We get the driveway finished in about 45 minutes. By this time, I cannot feel my chin or hands. I then realized that I would be a lot more comfortable if I were wearing more appropriate gloves and possibly a robber face mask to shield me from the elements. I’ll have to keep that in mind for next year.

Leave a Reply

