Hey! I’m Up Here!!!

You’re walking down the street and you see an old teacher from high school. You say hi, maybe make a little small talk, but your teacher is not looking at you. They are looking at your nose. Are they even listening to your weak attempts at conversation? I doubt it if they are from an older generation.

Facial piercings are becoming more widely accepted among college aged and younger people – but most likely, you will not be working for a college aged or younger person. You will be working for someone who was brought up to not think that facial piercings are okay.

To test this theory, I used myself as a test subject. Side note: this is the most painful experiment I have ever conducted.

  • Step one: come up with the idea to pierce my nose and see how people react
  • Step two: grab roommate, go to piercing place
  • Step three: shell out 45 bucks
  • Step four: tear up a little when a huge metal rod gets stuck through my nostril
  • Step five: bleed for 10 minutes
  • Step six: feel awkward about having a metal pokey object inside nasal passage
  • Step seven: go to Academy (place of employment), clock in, and let the fun begin.

As soon as I walked in the door, manager number one tells me that it is against company policy to have a nose ring in. I expected them to tell me to take it out because I had already called and asked if nose rings were allowed and they said no. But, it was for educational purposes, so who am I to stand in the way of education? I explained the experiment to manager number one and proceeded to tell him that I would leave it in for no longer than a week. He then told me that I needed to take it up with the main manager and I told him I would by the end of the night.

10 minutes later – manager number two tells me to take my nose ring out. I explain the experiment again. He does not care – tells me to take it out again. I then pull the health risk card on him – I explain that I pierced my nose less than an hour ago and it would be detrimental to my health if I remove the piercing before it is healed. He didn’t believe me. But I still did not take it out. I feel like I should be fired at this point.

Working customer service and having a nose piercing is probably not the best idea in the first place. After all, I think I am supposed to provide good customer service and 1) how can I focus on other people  when I have a piece of shiny metal in my peripheral vision? And 2) clearly older people do not approve of nose rings because no one looked at my eyes – they either stared off to the side or stared at my nose.

A bit later, one of my fellow Academy associates, an older guy, saw me and decided it was story time. He saw me, shook his head, asked me what was on my face, and then told me about his sister’s nose ring and how he won’t let her in his house until she takes it out. I’m getting the hint that people probably don’t like my nose ring at this point.

So after 45 dollars, blood and pain, arguing with authority figures at work, conversing with people without making eye contact, and making my parents angry, I decided it was time to take out my nose ring. And, on top of it all, it now looks like I have a hole in the side of my nose. I think I am done with facial piercings for a while, until I get bored again at least.

3 responses to “Hey! I’m Up Here!!!

  1. I am so glad you removed it before I saw you… Enough said on this subject! DAD

  2. i just want it to be known that i am infact the roommate that was grabbed in the experiment, i feel like i am an important part in science history now. thank u jessie.

  3. First and foremost…. You’re going to become famous. You’re original and you’re not your ordinary columnist. you’re going “outside the wire” and that depends on who sitting in the seat of perspective. I’ll explain soon… Nevertheless, good work and be yourself, Jessie!!

    Of course there will be those who look at a nose ring as taboo. Unfortunately, that’s expected in most western people or societies, but if your go to the east, Africa, South America and some western nations the site of a nose ring is anything from ‘beautiful’… ‘normal’… ‘exotic’… and even ‘expected’.
    In my opinion, having a nose ring or not having a nose ring will not make you a better worker not will it hamper your work performance. The nose ring was small (dainty), professional, not tacky, and it actually looked good.
    How about those with a big mole or a hairy wort on their nose. That can be very distracting, and to some, disgusting- to the point that it hinders customer service and even hinders sales. Do employers tell them to have their wort or mole removed???
    I say that employers need not to “sweat the small stuff” and get with the times. After all, the talent is in the worker not the nose ring. Are we a nation of cookie cutting robots? Appearance is important. Jessie was not wearing a gigantic nose ring. Plus, did a customer say anything about her nose ring? Give it a chance, America. There are far worse things in this world than nose rings….
    -A Patriot-

Leave a Reply

